Skip to main content
search for

Berger Health System Celebrates its Physicians

Hospital news | Monday, June 4, 2018

Contact: Teratia Welch

(Circleville, Ohio) - At recent ceremonies, Berger Health System recognized physicians and advanced practice providers for their years of service and also announced the recipient of the McCoy award. Pediatric physician, Dr. Gayle Melnick was the honored recipient of the 2018 Dr. Robert McCoy Award.

Dr. Melnick graduated from the College of Osteopathic Medicine, University of North Texas Health Science Center in Ft. Worth Texas and completed her residency at Doctor’s Hospital North, Pediatrics in Columbus. Dr. Melnick has been providing care to the residents of Pickaway County for over 30 years.

The Dr. Robert McCoy Award was established in 2011 in recognition of Dr. McCoy, who was awarded posthumously as the first recipient. The Dr. Robert McCoy award honors a community physician who exemplifies the characteristics that Dr. McCoy modeled in the care of his patients for over 50 years. Physicians selected for this distinguished award foster long term relationships with their patients, embrace patient-centered care with family involvement, integrate into the community, exemplify integrity, advocate for patients, lead care teams through the changing health care environment, have strong communication skills, and are mentors to their peers.

The recipient of the award is chosen annually by a selection committee made up of medical staff, executive staff at Berger Health System and the McCoy family. Previous honorees of the award include Dr. Robert McCoy 2011, Dr. Faryar Moshtaghi 2012, Dr. Gary Gillen 2013, Dr. Charles Hedges 2014, Dr. Arnold Palmer 2015, Dr. Michael Lefkowitz 2016 and Dr. Vernon Bolender 2017.

Physicians and administrative staff from Berger Health System and Berger Health Partners also honored medical staff members for milestone years of service and dedication to the health of Pickaway County residents. The provider and years of service include: Donald Fouts, DO – 20 years, David Goldfarb, MD – 20 years, Linda Iskra, MD – 20 years, Duane Mast, MD – 15 years, Daniel Ianni, DO – 15 years, Mark Choueiri, MD – 10 years, Daniel Marcus, MD – 10 years, Gayle Melnick, DO – 10 years, Lenora Fitton, DO – 5 years, Denise Tulga, NP – 5 years, Macira Dyment, DPM – 5 years, Jodie Gamm, PA – 5 years, Daniel Terbush, PA – 5 years, Anthony Theile, DO – 5 years, Brian Mussio, DO – 5 years, Anshuman Swain, MD – 5 years, James Castillo, PA – 5 years, Jeffrey Keyes, MD – 5 years, Mohannad Moallem, MD – 5 years and Suresh Yadav, MD – 5 years.

This year, in lieu of gifts, Berger celebrated physicians and nurses by making donations in their name to two programs. The first program is the Berger Health Foundation employee assistance fund. This fund supports employees who are in need due to unexpected financial emergencies. The second program Berger donated to was the employee scholarship fund which assists employees looking to further their education. These donations in their honor are a great way for Berger to give back to the hardworking employees that help serve our community.

Find a physician